Tags

, , , , ,

Writing SMSes is something I’m very careful of. I do not use shrt frms of evry 3 or mor ltr wrd in the dict, but then it is a huge pain to keep pressing buttons twelve times to write “cool” – without the quotes of course. So, I got around to the brilliant technology of Predictive Text or T9 as it is called. It saves you a lot of time and it makes you look good if you are careful enough. Let me explain the technology in case you are T9 challenged. On second thoughts, let Wiki explain it.
t9

T9’s objective is to make it easier to type text messages. It allows words to be entered by a single keypress for each letter, as opposed to the multi-tap approach used in the older generation of mobile phones in which several letters are associated with each key, and selecting one letter often requires multiple keypresses.

So the advantages are two-fold. One, you don’t have to learn the stupid shortened English because T9 is actually faster than writing those normally vowel-less words. Two, you write in proper English and it reads so much better.
As everything it has its issues. One, it won’t know your names. Vivek used to be typed as Thudl in a Nokia set. I still don’t know what that means. But once you type your name the normal way, T9 saves it for future use.
Problem two (which is what this post is about): Many times, a certain combination of letters can produce more than one proper, English word. Because it is a convenient system, there is a tendency to press the “send” button before reading what your T9 has actually typed for you.
Here are some of the little things that you need to watch out for:
1. An year after ox Davies carried ox movies, I was corn.
This is when you wanted to type, “An year after my father married my mother, I was born”.

2. I am not good yet.
“I am not home yet”.

3. I hate your cook.
“I gave your book”.

4. Did you cut a calf on your birthday?
“Did you cut a cake on your birthday?”

5. Show me tie moody.
“Show me the money”.

6. Mice raped.
“Nice saree”.

7. Inn…
“Hmm…”

8. Polling Summer
“Rolling Stones”.

9. Take me T9
“Tale of T9”.

So be careful when you use your T9 from here on. It is a great feature but it does have its problems. So don’t paw I didn’t warm you.

